27 Jan 2019 Yasuhiro Kasamatsu Concert at Grosvenor Chapel


文化交流使 作曲家


~ Solo exhibition of a Japanese composer, Yasuhiro Kasamatsu ~

Presented by the Agency for Cultural Affairs of Japan

Hosted by the UK-Japan Music Society at Grosvenor Chapel

Supported by the Embassy of Japan


Second movement from String Quartet No 4

Sone - zaki for string quartet ~ based on Bunraku (Japanese traditional puppet theatre)

Snow Phantom ~ An imaginary Noh Theatre for shakuhachi and string quartet

Libera Me, for tenor and string quartet for Romeo and Juliet directed by Yukio Ninagawa

Reflection of S entimental Journey, for tenor and piano

Requiem for After life ~ a film of Kore-eda for tenor and piano

Life is .... for tenor and piano, for casualties of Tohoku earthquake


1st Violin : Kumi Shimizu

2nd Violin : Maho Harada

Viola : Julie Park

Cello : Rebecca McNaught

Shakuhachi : Richard Stagg

Tenor : Julian Gregory

Piano : Jonathan Gregory

About Yasuhiro Kasamatsu:

Graduated from the Department of Aesthetics, Faculty of Letters, the University of Tokyo. He studied music composition under the late Akira Miyoshi, piano under the late Miyoko Goldberg Yamane. He composes and releases a variety of music, from chamber music to musical and operatic tunes. He writes music for theatrical plays such as those by the late Yukio Ninagawa, for films of Hirokazu Kore-eda. Chosen as Japan Cultural Envoy by the Agency for Cultural Affairs, Government of Japan.

Tickets: £15 adults, £10 students and OAPs *no under school age children will be admitted

Tickets available by applying to kasamatsuinlondon2019@gmail.com or ring 07986 196332 or at the door * no credit card facility

http://www.grosvenorchapel.org.uk/ Sunday 27th January 2019 at 5:30 pm

*doors open at 5 pm

Grosvenor Chapel 24 South Audley Street, Mayfair, London W1K 2PA

By kind permission of the vicar and churchwardens